The Campus Career Coach

Home » Ask the Coach » How should I show my LinkedIn profile on my resume?

How should I show my LinkedIn profile on my resume?

linkedin-icon1Kevin from the University of Texas at El Paso asked: 

If I have a LinkedIn Profile, how can I show it on my resume header?

Hi Kevin –

Great question.

Your LinkedIn profile is a valuable resource in your job search, so you need to pay a lot of attention to it.

Potential employers may first get to know you when they read your resume, but they will learn a whole lot more when they “Google” you to see what they can find on the internet. So, . . .

Make sure your LinkedIn profile and your resume are up to date and tell similar stories

If employers like what they see about you on your resume, they will very likely check to see what you look like online.  If your LinkedIn page is out of date or presents information different from/contradictory to what they see on your resume, that raises a red flag.  They will wonder:  Which resource is telling the truth?  Keep your story consistent across platforms and keep it professional.

Employers do check. If a Facebook or Google+ search on you reveals some extreme photos, language, links or likes, chances are that the employer is going to make some decisions (probably not positive ones) about your character, decision-making, maturity and, ultimately, employ-ability.  Surf, post, blog and like responsibly.

It is good to have a LinkedIn account.  It is extremely important to maintain that LinkedIn account and keep it as up to date as possible.  It is also important to be active on LinkedIn. Use LinkedIn on a regular basis and you will begin to understand its potential value. Use it as the basis for managing your professional network of contacts, and it will pay big dividends in your job search.

Your online brand is very important

A while back, I responded to a similar question about social media and the job search.  I recommend you read that post:

How important is establishing an online presence when I’m looking for a job?

As that post suggests,  the picture you paint of yourself on LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, etc. goes a long way toward defining your identity (your brand!) in the eyes of your boss, peers, partners and subordinates and your potential bosses, peers partners and subordinates. Manage it carefully.

Include your LinkedIn Public Profile URL in the contact information on your resume

First off, customize the URL on your LinkedIn Public Profile,  Make it as user friendly as possible. Search your name on the internet, see what comes up.  If your name is very common, you many need to be creative (but still professional) in selecting your URL.  You want to make sure potential employers find you and not someone else with your same name.

The contact information on your resume must include your name, phone number and email address.  It should include links to your LinkedIn Public Profile and other online resources (your personal website/online portfolio or blog) if they will help convey your professional brand. It can also include a brand statement and/or your physical address if you believe they will help market you to potential employers.

Following are some examples of how you might include your LinkedIn profile on your resume:

Contact Info Sample 3

Contact Info Sample 2

Contact Info Sample 1

Hope this is helpful,

matt-signature

2 Comments

  1. Joelle says:

    I’ve been reading a lot online about people going back and forth about whether or not to leave an advanced degree off your resume. I have a Master’s degree in Education, but much of my work experience has been as an administrator. As I’m ready to move on from my current company, I’m interested in continuing to be an administrator and also looking at jobs in new industries. I don’t think my degree should be left off my resume even if I appear “overqualified” because then they can easily check my LinkedIn profile and see that I have a Masters degree and then wonder why I didn’t put that on my resume. I believe in being fully honest and open. I’m considering moving my education to the bottom of my resume where it won’t jump off the page right away but it will still be there. I can also explain in my cover letter why I’m applying for a job for which I’m applying for a job for which I seem overqualified and then they can choose to move on or not. The fact that I’m “experienced” and “care about my education” shouldn’t deter them from considering me. If they want to pass me over, that’s their issue and not mine.

    • mattberndt says:

      Hi Joelle – you are right to be proud of your education and accomplishments. I do think that moving your education to the end (or near the end) of your resume makes sense. As an experienced administrative professional, the focus of your resume should be your experience and accomplishments in your field. Your education is the cherry on top of the ice cream sundae that is your experience Remember, you job as as a job seeker is to use your resume to help potential employers understand you and what you offer in a manner relevant to them. Speak to employers in their language, don’t make them understand yours. You can be open and honest and still be selective in how you share information on your resume. Don’t use your resume to try to tell your entire story, us it to tell the story potential employers need to hear in order to want to get to know you better (that is, invite you for an interview). Does that make sense?

      Good luck

      Matt

Leave a Reply

