The Campus Career Coach

Home » Ask the Coach » What is best type of resume for someone with a University Studies degree?

What is best type of resume for someone with a University Studies degree?

resume1Ashleigh at the University of Tennessee asked:

What is best type of resume for someone with a University Studies degree?

Hi Ashley

I answered a similar question back in December:

What can I do with a degree in University Studies?

That response does not focus specifically on resumes, but the general content is on point. Following is some resume-specific advice.

Regardless of your degree, your resume needs to be a marketing document

There is not one specific type of resume that is best for someone with a University Studies degree.

Unlike a degree in accounting or engineering, your degree does not prepare you to do any one specific thing.  Because of this, your resume has to help employers learn who you are and understand what you offer and what you want.  It needs to convey why they should consider hiring you!

In order to know what to include in your resume, you must be able to answer the following questions:

Who do you want to read your resume?
What types of employers are you targeting?

What types of jobs are you seeking?
One Size Fits All Resumes don’t fit anyone really well.

What do you want employers to learn about you when they read your resume?
About your education, your experience and your skills.

Essentially, what is the core message of your resume?
If you don’t know the core message of your resume, how can you expect an employer to figure it out?

Now, the formatting of your resume must be clean, consistent and easy to navigate for the reader, but unless the message is clear and the document is easy to navigate, you will not have an effective resume.

For more specific advice:

Read my Resume Writing Guide  and check out the resume examples on the Resume Gallery.  Also, check out my previous blogs on resume writing:

Where does my job flipping burgers fit on my resume?

I have no relevant experience; how can I make my resume attractive to potential recruiters?

What should I highlight on my resume – my unrelated work experience or my related classroom experience?

Does my resume need an Objective statement?

Hope this helps!

Good luck,

matt-signature

Leave a Reply

